Mortgage Brokering Technical Advisory Committee 

Meeting summary

Date: Monday, February 14, 2022
Time: 10:00 a.m. to 12:20 p.m.
Location: Videoconference

This summary sets out the key points discussed at the February 14, 2022 meeting.

Market trends, emerging issues and regulatory updates

The Committee and FSRA shared observations on recent trends and emerging issues in the mortgage industry.

FSRA shared the probable evolution of the Mortgage Brokering business model and the corresponding regulatory implication on mortgage borrower protection. FSRA indicated that its Fee Rule will be reviewed in 2022 and different potential fee models, some of which were presented to the TAC, are being considered.

Proposed new MBLAA licensing classes

The Committee was presented with the proposed transition requirements for the new MBLAA licensing classes and the implications for existing licensees. Committee members were encouraged to provide feedback on the draft regulation amendments and FSRA Guidance posted for public consultation from February 11th to March 14th. 

Licensing Updates

FSRA provided updates on changes to the structure of the Licensing and Risk Assessment Team. 

Next meeting

The next meeting of the committee will be scheduled for April 29, 2022.

Attendance record

Invited/ Attended

Company Name

Attendance Status
(A)ttended; (R)egrets; (S)ubstitute; (VC)Teleconference

Sadiq Boodoo

Approved Financial Services


Guido Di Franco

Richview Capital MIC Inc. / Mortgage Architects Experts


Kevin Fettig

CMI Financial Group


Carla Gervais

The Mortgage Advisors (Verico)


Elizabeth Gnoinski

Boss Mortgages – The Mortgage Center


Neil Gross

Component Strategies Consulting


Victoria Joly

Distinctive Real Estate Advisors Inc.


Alex Leduc

Perch (Mortgauge)


David Morrison

Morrison Financial


Anthony Pistillo

Riverrock MIC


Murray Snedden

MarshallZehr Group Inc.


Marie Taylor



Ellis Martin-Wylie

Ministry of Finance


Gina Stephens

Ministry of Finance


FSRA members present:

Nadiatou Fagbemi, Wendy Horrobin, Antoinette Leung, Mai Vo and team members from FSRA’s Market Conduct team; Rocca D’Angela, Joel Gorlick, and Abina Rogers from Policy team were present at the meeting. James Tennant from Innovation office, Jessica Rose and Elissa Sinha from Legal and Enforcement team, Emil Taimazov from Financial Planning and Analysis team, Serina Yau from FSRA’s Public Affairs team, as well as Fern Karsh from Consumer Office were also present.

Available in French upon request