The Financial Services Regulatory Authority of Ontario (FSRA) is an independent regulatory agency created to improve consumer and pension plan beneficiary protections in Ontario.

FSRA was established to replace the Financial Services Commission of Ontario (FSCO) and the Deposit Insurance Corporation of Ontario (DICO). The agency is flexible, self-funded and designed to respond rapidly to an evolving commercial and consumer environment. In this capacity, FSRA will: 

  • Promote high standards of business conduct
  • Foster a sustainable, competitive financial services sector
  • Respond to market changes quickly
  • Promote good administration of insurance and pension plans
  • Encourage innovation

Sectors we regulate

The newly created agency protects Ontarians by regulating:

  • Property and casualty insurance
  • Life and health insurance
  • Credit unions and caisses populaires
  • Loan and trust companies
  • Mortgage brokers
  • Health services providers (related to auto insurance)
  • Pension plan administrators
  • Financial planners and advisors (proposed)

As of December 31, 2020, FSRA regulated or registered:

  • 298 insurance companies
  • 6,836 pension plans
  • 63 credit unions and caisses populaires
  • 50 loan and trust corporations
  • 1,223 mortgage brokerages
  • 2,918 mortgage brokers
  • 13,304 mortgage agents
  • 226 mortgage administrators
  • 5,240 accident benefit service providers
  • 59,992 insurance agents
  • 6,333 corporate insurance agencies
  • 1,567 insurance adjusters

Legislative mandate

  • Regulate and generally supervise the regulated sectors
  • Contribute to public confidence 
  • Monitor and evaluate developments and trends 
  • Promote public education and knowledge 
  • Promote transparency and disclosure of information
  • Deter deceptive or fraudulent conduct, practices and activities