Transition Updates

FSRA continues to make progress in preparation to assume regulatory functions currently delivered by the Financial Services Commission of Ontario (FSCO) and the Deposit Insurance Corporation of Ontario (DICO). We are working closely with the Ministry of Finance, FSCO and DICO to ensure a smooth transition of regulatory authorities, as well as to start the transformation required to achieve burden reduction and regulatory effectiveness.

With an ambitious transformation mandate, FSRA will not simply be a continuation of existing Ontario regulators. FSRA’s aim is to be an efficient and effective regulator that serves the public interest. We are committed to doing the right things and doing things right.

We remain on track for Spring 2019, with a phased transition starting in April to facilitate a June launch.

Draft 2019-20 FSRA Priorities and Budget

FSRA is pleased to propose its inaugural budget and priorities to enable its transformation to a forward-looking, flexible, self-funded, principles-based regulator capable of responding to the dynamic pace of change in the marketplace, industry and consumer expectations.

The proposed budget and priorities for F19-20 demonstrate FSRA’s intention to regulate differently by using greater expertise, rule-making and other regulatory tools and improved processes to reduce burden and increase regulatory effectiveness while maintaining prudent financial stewardship.

View 2019-20 FSRA Priorities and Budget

Proposed Fee Rule

On September 28, 2018 the Ontario Legislature proclaimed FSRA’s rule-making authority under the Financial Services Regulatory Authority of Ontario Act, 2016 (FSRA Act). This is a significant milestone that enables FSRA to make rules, including those governing fees and other charges required for FSRA to operate as an independent, self-funded agency that will operate on a cost recovery basis.

As part of the transition of FSCO’s and DICO’s regulatory mandate to FSRA, FSRA has developed an initial fee rule to obtain funding from the financial services sectors it regulates. The proposed fee rule is intended to enable FSRA to maintain continuity of FSCO and DICO operations and build enhanced capacity, resources and expertise to efficiently and effectively anticipate and respond to the dynamic pace of change in marketplace, industry and consumer expectations.

The proposed fee rules are based on foundational values and principles established by the FSRA Board: simple, consistent, fair, transparent, future-focused, efficient and effective.

Prior to formal statutory public consultations on the proposed fee rule FSRA established seven ad hoc, special purpose Fee Rule Industry Advisory Groups to provide regulated sector industry insight and views to the FSRA management and Board of Directors.

Dialogue and consultation will be at the core of FSRA's approach to its ambitious transformation and modernization plan. FSRA welcomes comments on this initial rule, and will continue to seek stakeholder input on its future directions.

February 4, 2019: FSRA Notice and Request for Further Comment on Proposed Fee Rule 2019-001

Progress Report

The April 2018 Progress Report provided an update on FSRA's current status and activities, a high-level overview of FSRA's proposed strategic framework and key areas of focus.

Mises à jour de la transition

L’ARSF continue de progresser en vue de s’acquitter de fonctions de réglementation actuellement sous l’égide de la Commission des services financiers de l'Ontario (CSFO) et de la Société ontarienne d'assurance-dépôts (SOAD). Nous travaillons en étroite collaboration avec le ministre des Finances, la CSFO et la SOAD pour assurer une transition harmonieuse des organismes de réglementation, ainsi que pour entamer la transformation nécessaire pour atteindre la réduction des charges et l’efficacité réglementaire.

Dotée d’un ambitieux mandat de transformation, l’ARSF ne sera pas simplement une continuation des organismes de réglementation de l'Ontario existants. L’ARSF a pour objectif d’être un organisme de réglementation efficient et efficace qui sert l’intérêt du public. Nous nous engageons à faire ce qu’il faut et à bien faire les choses.

Nous maintenons le cap pour le printemps 2019, avec une transition par étapes à compter d’avril pour faciliter un lancement en juin.

Ébauche des priorités et du budget 2019-2020 de l’ARSF

L’ARSF est heureuse de proposer son premier budget et ses premières priorités pour permettre sa transformation en un organisme de réglementation visionnaire, souple, autofinancé et fondé sur des principes, en mesure de suivre le rythme d'évolution rapide du marché, de l'industrie et des attentes des consommateurs.

Les priorités et le budget proposés pour l’exercice 2019-2020 démontrent l’intention de l’ARSF de réglementer différemment en se servant d’une meilleure expertise et prise de décision, ainsi que d’autres outils de réglementation et processus améliorés pour réduire les charges et accroître l’efficacité réglementaire tout en maintenant une gestion financière prudente.

Consultez les priorités et le budget 2019-2020 de l’ARSF (Anglais seulement - version Français prochainement)

Règle proposée

Dans le cadre du transfert du mandat de réglementation de la CSFO et de la SOAD à l’ARSF, l’ARSF a élaboré une première règle pour obtenir un financement des secteurs des services financiers qu’elle réglemente. Le financement proposé vise à permettre à l’ARSF de maintenir la continuité des activités de la CSFO et de la SOAD et de renforcer les capacités, les ressources et l’expertise afin de prévoir de façon efficiente et efficace le rythme soutenu du changement dans le marché, l’industrie et les attentes des consommateurs et d’y répondre.

Les règles proposées se basent sur des valeurs et principes fondamentaux établis par le conseil d’administration de l’ARSF : simples, uniformes, justes, transparentes, axées sur l’avenir, efficientes et efficaces.

Avant de tenir les consultations officielles publiques prévues par la loi sur les règles proposées, l’ARSF a formé sept groupes consultatifs de l’industrie spéciaux et à des fins particulières en matière de règles afin qu’ils communiquent le point de vue et l’avis de l’industrie des secteurs réglementés à la direction et au conseil d’administration de l’ARSF.

Un dialogue et une consultation seront au cœur de l'approche de l'ARSF pour son ambitieux plan de transformation et de modernisation. L’ARSF veut recevoir des commentaires sur cette première règle et continuera de solliciter l’avis des intervenants dans le cadre de ses orientations futures.

4 février 2019 : Avis de l’ARSF et demande de commentaires supplémentaires sur la règle proposée 2019-001

Rapport d'étape

Le rapport d'étape d’avril 2018 faisait un compte rendu de la situation et des activités courantes de l’ARSF, un aperçu de haut niveau du cadre stratégique proposé de l’ARSF ainsi que des domaines d’intérêt clés.