Meeting Summary - October 18, 2019

Disponibe en français sur demande.

Ad Hoc Technical Advisory Committee Proposed Approach for Identifying and Strengthening the Supervision of Actively Monitored Plans

Meeting Minutes

Date: Friday, October 18, 2019 Time: 9.30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.

Location: Financial Services Regulatory Authority of Ontario

This summary sets out the key points discussed at the October 18, 2019 meeting

Working Group Discussions

As discussed during the first Committee meeting, "working groups" were formed and met in the weeks leading up to the October 18th meeting. The overall objective of each group was more focused discussions on the elements of FSRA's approach to actively monitored plans, more specifically the:

Group 1: Risk identification process

Group 2: Toolkit and engagement strategy to be implemented in the near term

Group 3: Actuarial and investment considerations

Group 4: "Blue sky" exploratory ideas for the long-term





A summary of the discussion of each subgroup was provided by FSRA and discussed amongst the Committee as a whole.

Draft Approach Document

This feedback received from the working groups was reflected in a draft guidance document presented to the Committee.

Next steps:

- FSRA will review and revise the draft Approach document in consideration of the Committee's discussion and redistribute.
- Next meeting is scheduled for November 22, 2019.

Attendance Record





Invited/Attended	Company Name	Attendance Status (A)ttended; (R)egrets; (S)ubstitute; (TC)Teleconference
Caroline Blouin	FSRA- EVP and TAC Chair	A
Andrea Boctor	Stikeman	A
Jana Steele	Osler	R
Ken Eady	Sears Retirees Association	Α
Randy Bauslaugh	McCarthy Tetrault	A
Winston Woo	AGS Auto	TC





Michael Campbell	NRPC- Nortel	TC
Andrew Hatnay	Koskie	A
Kathryn Bush	Blakes	A
Susan Nickerson	Torys	A
Elizabeth Brown	ВМКР	A
Bev Church	Sears	A
Simon Archer	Goldblatt	A
Rob Corkum	Mercer	TC





Jason Vary	Actuarial Solutions	A
Janis Cooper	Willis Towers	A
David Marshall		A
Gale Rubenstein	Goodmans	A
Chris Roberts	Canadian Labour Congress	R
Al Kiel	Morneau Shepell	A
Natalie Wong	MoF	A
Lauren Kappius	MoF	A





Tim Thomson	FSRA	A
Mark Eagles	FSRA	A
Tim Fung	FSRA	A
Andrew Fung	FSRA	A
Chantal Laurin	FSRA	A

