2019-001: Assessments and Fees

FSRA Rule 2019-001 – Assessments and Fees is intended to ensure that FSRA is a self-funded agency that operates on a cost recovery basis and to enable FSRA to carry out its legislated mandate.

Based on extensive research, collaboration and engagement with stakeholders, the proposed fee rule is intended to enable FSRA to maintain continuity of FSCO and DICO operations during the transition, and to be a forward-looking, flexible, self-funded regulator capable of responding to the dynamic pace of change in marketplace, industry and public expectations.

As per the Financial Services Regulatory Authority of Ontario Act, 2016, an initial proposed fee rule 2019-001 was posted on October 5, 2018 for a 90-day public consultation. Based on input received, FSRA posted a revised rule on February 4, 2019 for further consultation.

The FSRA Board has approved the rule and delivered it to the Minister of Finance on March 8, 2019.

As per the legislation, the Minister may approve or reject the Fee Rule, or return it for further consideration. If the Minister approves the Fee Rule, the Fee Rule will come into force on the later of: (a) the 15th day following the Minister’s approval; and (b) the date on which FSRA assumes regulatory authority over the financial services sectors that it will regulate (the latter date being the Regulatory Effective Date). If the Minister does not take any action with respect to the Fee Rule by June 6, 2019, the Fee Rule will come into force on the later of: (a) June 21, 2019; and (b) the Regulatory Effective Date.

Dialogue and consultation will be at the core of FSRA's approach to its ambitious transformation and modernization plan. FSRA appreciates the input provided on this first rule, and will continue to seek stakeholder input on future directions.


Type: Rule
Number: 2019-001
Date: 2019-03-08
Comments Due: 2019-02-25
Sector: All sectors
Status: With Minister for review

2019-001: Cotisations et Droits

La règle 2019-001 de l’ARSF sur les cotisations et droits s’assure que l’ARSF est un organisme autofinancé qui fonctionne selon un système de recouvrement des coûts et que l’ARSF s’acquitte de son mandat prescrit par la loi.

Sur la base de vastes recherches, d’une collaboration et d’activités de participation avec les intervenants, la règle proposée vise à permettre à l’ARSF de maintenir la continuité des activités de la CSFO et de la SOAD durant la transition, ainsi que d’être un organisme de réglementation visionnaire, souple et autofinancé, en mesure de suivre le rythme d'évolution rapide du marché, de l'industrie et des attentes des consommateurs.

Conformément à la Loi de 2016 sur l'Office ontarien de réglementation des services financiers, une première proposition de règle 2019-001 a été publiée le 5 octobre 2018 pour une période de consultation publique de 90 jours. Sur la base des contributions reçues, l’ARSF a publié une règle révisée le 4 février 2019 aux fins d’autres consultations.

L’ARSF a approuvé la règle et l’a transmise au ministre des Finances le 8 mars 2019.

Conformément à la loi, le ministre peut approuver ou refuser la règle, ou la renvoyer aux fins d’examen plus approfondi. Si le ministre approuve la règle, celle-ci entrera en vigueur, selon le cas : (a) le 15e jour suivant l’approbation du ministre; (b) à la date à laquelle l’ARSF exercera un pouvoir réglementaire sur les secteurs des services financiers qu’elle réglementera (cette dernière date étant la date d’entrée en vigueur de l’organisme de réglementation). Si le ministre ne prend aucune mesure concernant la règle d’ici le 6 juin 2019, la règle entrera en vigueur, selon le cas : (a) le 21 juin 2019; (b) à la date d’entrée en vigueur de l’organisme de réglementation.

Un dialogue et une consultation seront au cœur de l'approche de l'ARSF pour son ambitieux plan de transformation et de modernisation. L’ARSF est reconnaissante des contributions fournies sur cette première règle et continuera de solliciter l’avis des intervenants dans le cadre d’orientations futures.


Type: Règle
Numéro : 2019-001
Date : 2019-03-08
Date de remise des commentaires : 2019-02-25
Secteur : Tous les secteurs
État : Remis au ministre aux fins d’examen