Governance

FSRA is a board-governed regulatory agency established under the Financial Services Regulatory Authority of Ontario Act, 2016, which came into force on June 29, 2017.

The members of the Authority consist of the members of its board of directors. The board of directors consists of at least three and not more than eleven directors. The directors are appointed by the Lieutenant Governor in Council who also designates a director as chair of the board of directors, on the recommendation of the Minister.

Bryan Davies

Bryan P. Davies, Chair

Term: June 29, 2017 to June 28, 2019

Bryan Davies has extensive financial sector and governance experience in both the private and public sectors. Most recently, he served as Chair of the Canada Deposit Insurance Corporation, assuming that role in 2006. Mr. Davies also served concurrently as Vice-Chair of the Canadian Securities Transition Office from July 2009 to July 2013.

Prior to those federal appointments, Mr. Davies was Chief Executive Officer and Superintendent of the Financial Services Commission of Ontario from 2002 to 2005. Before then, he was Senior Vice President of Regulatory Affairs at the Royal Bank Financial Group.

Mr. Davies held a number of senior positions in the Government of Ontario from 1975 to 1993, including Deputy Treasurer and Deputy Minister of Economics, and was Vice President of Business Affairs and Chief Administrative Officer at the University of Toronto from 1992 to 1994.

He has served on the Boards of both publicly traded and private corporations, and has been, and remains, active in a range of non-profit organizations, focused on the cultural, heritage, and education spheres.

Kathryn Bouey

Kathryn Bouey

Term: June 29, 2017 to June 28, 2019

Ms. Bouey has led and supported a wide range of public and private sector programs and large- scale business transformation projects.

As the founding President of TBG Strategic Services, she provides executive-level strategic advice, leadership and project management. Prior to becoming a consultant, she was a deputy minister with the Government of Ontario. Over her public service career, she had progressive experience in the federal and Ontario governments in such diverse areas as: governance and accountability; financial and human resource management; procurement: pensions, insurance and related investment strategies; risk management; health; energy; realty; intergovernmental finance, social and economic policy; negotiations; and labour relations.

Ms. Bouey currently serves on the Canada Revenue Agency Board of Management. She holds an ICD.D designation and has been actively involved on a number of boards, including Hydro One (Chair, Business Transformation Committee and Member, Investment and Pension Committee), Ontario Power Generation, the Ontario Pension Board, St. Joseph’s Health Centre (Toronto), Sheridan College (Chair, Board Governance Review Task Force), the Ontario Financing Authority, the Canadian Comprehensive Auditing Foundation and SPRINT Senior Care.

Blair Cowper Smith

Blair Cowper-Smith

Term: February 28, 2018 to February 27, 2020

Blair Cowper-Smith has extensive experience in governance, pensions, law and regulatory matters. Most recently he served as the Chief Corporate Affairs Officer and member of the Executive Committee of a large Canadian pension plan. Prior to that he was a senior partner at a large Canadian law firm, serving on the Board of Directors and specializing in mergers and acquisitions, governance and stakeholder issues. He has served as a governance adviser to many boards of directors of corporations and pension plans.

With respect to regulatory matters, he has served on the committee of the Ontario Securities Commission and the Public Policy Committee of the Canadian Coalition for Good Governance. In his practice he advised clients on regulatory matters relating pensions and securities laws compliance. He regularly speaks at conferences and roundtables on pension plan matters, governance matters including board effectiveness, shareholder engagement, and infrastructure investing. He is a principal and founder of Erin Park Business Solutions.

Brigid Murphy

Brigid Murphy

Term: February 28, 2018 to February 27, 2020

Brigid Murphy has extensive property and casualty insurance experience. Most recently, she served as Vice Chairman of Travelers Canada from 2015 to 2017, and as President and CEO from 2013 to 2015. Prior to its acquisition by Travelers, Ms. Murphy served in several executive roles at The Dominion between 1996 and 2008. She was appointed Chief Operating Officer in 2010, President in 2012, and President and CEO in 2013. From 2008 to 2010, she served as Director of Regional Brokers with Aviva UK.

Ms. Murphy’s governance experience includes membership on the boards of Director of General Insurance Ombudservice, Guardian Insurance, Canadian Group Underwriters, Oceanic Insurance and The Insurance Bureau of Canada. She served as chair of the Superintendent’s Advisory Committee on Forms and Legislation from 1987 to 1992 and has been an active member of insurance industry committees and working groups.

Having served for ten years as Board Chair and Trustee of The George Hull Centre for Children and Families, and its Foundation, Ms. Murphy continues to advocate for community-based children’s mental health services.

Richard Nesbitt

Richard Nesbitt

Term: February 28, 2018 to February 27, 2020

Richard Nesbitt is a senior executive and respected scholar with extensive experience in financial services and securities. He is currently CEO of the Global Risk Institute in Financial Services. Richard was Chief Operating Officer of Canadian Imperial Bank of Commerce until he retired from that position in September 2014. He joined CIBC in 2008 following his more than 20 years of experience in the securities industry which included CIBC Wood Gundy from 1987 to 1997.

Mr. Nesbitt is a Visiting Professor at the London School of Economics, United Kingdom, an Adjunct Professor of the Rotman School of Management, University of Toronto, and chair of the Advisory Board of the Mind Brain Behavior Hive at the same University.

Mr. Nesbitt is the co-author of “Results at the Top,” a book on the issue of men’s responsibility for gender diversity to improve their organizations (Wiley 2017). He serves on a variety of corporate and community boards and was recognized with the Women in Capital Marks Visionary Award, the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal, and the University of Toronto Arbor Award.

Lawrence Ritchie

Lawrence E. Ritchie

Term: March 12, 2018 to March 11, 2020

Mr. Ritchie has a deep understanding and background in financial regulatory policy making and enforcement, securities litigation, and the financial services sector. He is a partner at the law firm of Osler, Hoskin and Harcourt LLP, chairing Osler’s cross-disciplinary Risk Management and Crisis Response national practice and co-chairing its Securities Regulatory Enforcement and Broker-Dealer litigation practice.

One of the leading securities litigators in Canada, his practice involves dispute avoidance and resolution across a range of capital markets, the financial sector, and other regulated industries, as well as advising clients on class actions, capital markets enforcement and regulatory investigations.

He served in a number of positions at the Ontario Securities Commission, including Vice-Chair and member of the Commission, member of the board of directors and executive management and adjudicative committees, and a secondment to the Canadian Securities Transition Office as its Executive Vice-President and Senior Policy Advisor. Mr. Ritchie represented the OSC at several national and international bodies, including the International Organization of Securities Commissions, the North American Securities Administrators Association, the Canadian Securities Administrators and the Canadian Joint Forum of Financial Regulators. Prior to his appointment to the OSC, he was a member of the advisory committee to Ontario’s Financial Services Tribunal. In 2015, Mr. Ritchie was appointed to the three-person expert panel that conducted a Review of the Mandates of the Financial Services Commission of Ontario, Financial Services Tribunal and the Deposit Insurance Corporation of Ontario.

He is an adjunct professor at Osgoode Hall Law School, teaches at the Institute of Corporate Director’s Director Education Program, and writes and lectures on various legal and regulatory topics.

Judith Robertson

Judith Robertson

Term: June 29, 2017 to June 28, 2019

Judith Robertson is a senior financial services professional with international experience in technology enabled businesses, securities markets, investment products and risk management.

As Commissioner for the Ontario Securities Commission from 2011 to 2017 Ms. Robertson served as regulator, board member and adjudicator. Previous positions include: President and CEO of Belzberg Technologies Inc., Executive Vice President with Perimeter Financial Corp., CEO of Markets Inc., Managing Director with Barclays Global Investors, and Vice President with CIBC Wood Gundy.

Ms. Robertson has obtained the ICD.D and CFA designations and is an Ivey MBA and University of Toronto graduate. She is a member of the Institute of Corporate Directors and a former member of the Society of Ontario Adjudicators and Regulators. She has been an active participant in industry committees and has served on several not-for-profit boards including TVOntario and MPrime Network.

By-Laws

By-Law 1: General
By-Law 2: Borrowing
By-Law 2A

Gouvernance

L'ARSF est un organisme de réglementation régi par un conseil d'administration établi en vertu de la Loi de 2016 sur l’Autorité ontarienne de réglementation des services financiers, qui est entrée en vigueur le 29 juin 2017.

Les membres de l’Office sont les membres de son conseil d’administration. Le conseil d'administration se compose d’au moins trois et d’au plus 11 administrateurs. Chaque administrateur est nommé par le lieutenant-gouverneur en conseil sur la recommandation du ministre. Le lieutenant-gouverneur en conseil désigne également un administrateur à la présidence sur la recommandation du ministre.

Bryan Davies

Bryan P. Davies, président

Mandat : Du 29 juin 2017 au 28 juin 2019

Bryan Davies possède une vaste expérience du domaine financier et en gouvernance dans les secteurs public et privé. Plus récemment, il a occupé les fonctions de président de la Société d'assurance-dépôts du Canada en 2006. M. Davies a également été simultanément vice-président du Bureau de transition canadien en valeurs mobilières de juillet 2009 à juillet 2013.

Avant ces nominations au fédéral, M. Davies a été directeur général et surintendant de la Commission des services financiers de l'Ontario de 2002 à 2005. Auparavant, il a été premier vice-président des affaires réglementaires chez RBC Groupe Financier.

M. Davies a occupé plusieurs de niveau supérieur au gouvernement de l'Ontario de 1975 à 1993, notamment à titre de trésorier adjoint et de sous-ministre de l'Économie. Il a également été vice-président des affaires commerciales et agent administratif principal à l'Université de Toronto de 1992 à 1994.

Il a siégé aux conseils d'administration de sociétés tant privées que cotées en bourse, et a été et demeure actif au sein de différents organismes sans but lucratif axés sur la culture, le patrimoine et l'éducation.

Kathryn Bouey

Kathryn Bouey

Mandat : Du 29 juin 2017 au 28 juin 2019

Mme Bouey a dirigé et appuyé un large éventail de programmes dans les secteurs public et privé, ainsi que des projets de transformation d'entreprises de grande envergure.

À titre de présidente fondatrice de TBG Strategic Services, elle offre des conseils stratégiques au niveau de la direction, ainsi que des services de leadership et de gestion de projet. Avant de devenir experte-conseil, elle a été sous-ministre au gouvernement de l'Ontario. Durant sa carrière dans la fonction publique, elle a acquis progressivement de l'expérience au sein des gouvernements fédéral et provincial dans des domaines aussi diversifiés que la gouvernance et la responsabilisation; la gestion des ressources financières et humaines; l'approvisionnement : régimes de retraite, assurance et stratégies d'investissement connexes; la gestion du risque; la santé; l'énergie; l'immobilier; les politiques intergouvernementales financières, sociales et économiques; les négociations; les relations de travail.

Mme Bouey siège actuellement au conseil de direction de l'Agence du revenu du Canada. Elle est détentrice d'un titre d'ICD de l'Institut des administrateurs de sociétés et a siégé activement à différents conseils d'administration, notamment celui d'Hydro One (présidente, Comité de la transformation des activités, et membre du Comité des investissements et du régime de retraite), d'Ontario Power Generation, de la Commission du Régime de retraite des fonctionnaires de l’Ontario, du St. Joseph’s Health Centre (Toronto), du Collège Sheridan (présidente du groupe de travail sur l'examen de la gouvernance de la Commission), de l'Office ontarien du financement, de la Fondation canadienne pour la vérification intégrée et de SPRINT Senior Care.

Blair Cowper Smith

Blair Cowper-Smith

Mandat : 28 février 2018 au 27 février 2020

Blair Cowper-Smith possède une vaste expérience des questions de gouvernance, de régimes de retraite, de droit et de réglementation. Plus récemment, il a occupé le poste de directeur des affaires organisationnelles et a été membre du Comité directeur chez un important régime de retraite canadien. Auparavant, il a été associé principal chez dans un grand cabinet d'avocats canadien où il a siégé au conseil d'administration et s'est spécialisé dans les questions de fusions et d'acquisitions, de gouvernance et d'intervenants. Il a également été conseiller en gouvernance pour de nombreux conseils d'administration de sociétés et de régimes de retraite.

En ce qui a trait aux questions de réglementation, il a siégé au comité de la Commission des valeurs mobilières de l'Ontario et au Comité de politique publique de la Coalition canadienne pour une bonne gouvernance. Dans le cadre de ses fonctions, il a conseillé des clients sur des questions de réglementation se rapportant aux régimes de retraite et au respect des lois sur les valeurs mobilières. Il prononce régulièrement des allocutions dans le cadre de conférences et de tables rondes sur des questions liées aux régimes de retraite et des questions de gouvernance, y compris l'efficacité des conseils d'administration, la participation des actionnaires et l'investissement en infrastructure. Il est directeur et fondateur d'Erin Park Business Solutions.

Brigid Murphy

Brigid Murphy

Mandat : 28 février 2018 au 27 février 2020

Brigid Murphy possède une vaste expérience en assurance dommages. Plus récemment, elle a été vice-présidente de Travelers Canada de 2015 à 2017, ainsi que présidente et chef de la direction de 2013 à 2015. Mme Murphy a occupé plusieurs postes de direction chez The Dominion entre 1996 et 2008, avant son acquisition par Travelers. Elle a été nommée directrice de l'exploitation en 2010, présidente en 2012 et président et chef de la direction en 2013. De 2008 à 2010, elle a été directrice des courtiers régionaux auprès d'Aviva au Royaume-Uni.

L'expérience en gouvernance de Mme Murphy comprend sa participation au conseil d'administration du Service de conciliation en assurance dommages, de Guardian Insurance, de Canadian Group Underwriters, d'Oceanic Insurance et du Bureau d'assurance du Canada. Elle a été présidente du Comité consultatif des surintendants sur les formulaires et la législation de 1987 à 1992, et est une membre active de différents comités et groupes de travail de l'industrie de l'assurance.

En tant que présidente et administratrice depuis dix ans du conseil d'administration du George Hull Centre for Children and Families et de sa fondation, Mme Murphy continue de plaider en faveur de services de santé mentale pour enfants en milieu communautaire.

Richard Nesbitt

Richard Nesbitt

Mandat : 28 février 2018 au 27 février 2020

Richard Nesbitt est un cadre supérieur et universitaire respecté possédant une vaste expérience en services financiers et en valeurs mobilières. Il occupe actuellement les fonctions de chef de la direction de Global Risk Institute in Financial Services.

Richard a été chef des opérations à la Banque Canadienne Impériale de Commerce jusqu'à son départ à la retraite de ce poste en septembre 2014. Il s'est joint à la CIBC en 2008 après avoir acquis plus de 20 ans d'expérience dans l'industrie des valeurs mobilières, notamment auprès de CIBC Wood Gundy de 1987 à 1997.

M. Nesbitt est professeur invité à la London School of Economics au Royaume-Uni, professeur auxiliaire à la Rotman School of Management de l'Université de Toronto et président du conseil consultatif de Mind Brain Behaviour Hive à cette même université.

M. Nesbitt est coauteur de Results at the Top, un livre traitant de la responsabilité des hommes en matière de mixité des sexes afin d'améliorer leurs organisations (Wiley 2017). Il siège à différents conseils d'administration communautaires et de sociétés, et a reçu le prix Visionary de Women in Capital Markets, la Médaille du jubilé de diamant de la reine Elizabeth II et le prix Arbor de l'Université de Toronto.

Lawrence Ritchie

Lawrence E. Ritchie

Mandat : Du 12 mars 2018 au 11 mars 2020

M. Ritchie possède une profonde compréhension ainsi qu'une vaste expérience en élaboration et application de politiques de réglementation financière, ainsi que dans le secteur des litiges en valeurs mobilières et des services financiers. Il est associé au cabinet d'avocats Osler, Hoskin and Harcourt LLP, où il préside la pratique nationale pluridisciplinaire de gestion du risque et d'intervention en situation de crise d'Osler et copréside sa pratique du contentieux en matière d'application de la règlementation sur les valeurs mobilières et de courtiers-maisons de courtage.

M. Ritchie est l'un des principaux avocats plaidants en matière de valeurs mobilières au Canada. Sa pratique englobe la prévention et la résolution de différends dans un éventail de marchés financiers, dans le secteur financier et d'autres industries réglementées, ainsi que l'offre de conseils aux clients en matière de recours collectifs, d'application de la loi dans les marchés financiers et d'enquêtes réglementaires.

Il a occupé plusieurs postes à la Commission des valeurs mobilières de l'Ontario, notamment celui de vice-président et membre de la Commission, de membre du conseil d'administration et de la haute direction ainsi que de membre de comités décisionnels; il a également été détaché auprès du Bureau de transition canadien en valeurs mobilières à titre de premier vice-président et de conseiller principal en politiques. M. Ritchie a représenté la CVMO auprès de plusieurs organismes nationaux et internationaux, notamment l'Organisation internationale des commissions de valeurs particulièrement, la North American Securities Administrators Association, les Autorités canadiennes en valeurs mobilières et le Forum conjoint des autorités de réglementation du marché financier du Canada. Avant sa nomination à la CVMO, il a été membre du comité consultatif auprès du Tribunal des services financiers de l'Ontario. En 2015, M. Ritchie a été nommé l'un des trois membres du groupe d'experts ayant réalisé un Examen des mandats de la Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario, du Tribunal des services financiers et de la Société ontarienne d’assurance-dépôts.

Il est professeur auxiliaire à la Osgoode Hall Law School, enseigne au Programme de perfectionnement des administrateurs de l'Institut des administrateurs de sociétés et rédige et fait des présentations sur différents sujets de nature juridique et réglementaire.

Judith Robertson

Judith Robertson

Mandat : Du 29 juin 2017 au 28 juin 2019

Judith Robertson est une professionnelle chevronnée des services financiers et possède une expérience internationale en entreprises technologiques, en marchés de titres, en produits d'investissement et en gestion du risque.

À titre de commissaire pour la Commission des valeurs mobilières de l'Ontario de 2011 à 2017, Mme Robertson a été chargée de la réglementation, membre du conseil d'administration et arbitre. Elle a notamment occupé les fonctions suivantes : Présidente et chef de la direction de Belzberg Technologies Inc., première vice-présidente de Perimeter Financial Corp., chef de la direction de Markets Inc., directrice principale de Barclays Global Investors et vice-présidente de CIBC Wood Gundy.

Mme Robertson est détentrice d'un titre d'ICD de l'Institut des administrateurs de sociétés et est analyste financière agréée, en plus d'être détentrice d'un MBA de l'établissement Ivey et d'être diplômée de l'Université de Toronto. Elle est membre de l'Institut des administrateurs de sociétés et ancienne membre de la Society of Ontario Adjudicators and Regulators. Elle a participé de façon active à des comités de l'industrie et a siégé à de nombreux conseils d'administration d'OSBL, notamment ceux de TVOntario et MPrime Network.

Règlements

Règlement n° 1 : General (Disponible en anglais seulement)
Règlement n° 2 : Borrowing (Disponible en anglais seulement)
Règlement n° 2A (Disponible en anglais seulement)