FSRA is a board-governed regulatory agency established under the Financial Services Regulatory Authority of Ontario Act, 2016, which came into force on June 29, 2017.

The members of the Authority consist of the members of its board of directors. The board of directors consists of at least three and not more than eleven directors. The directors are appointed by the Lieutenant Governor in Council who also designates a director as chair of the board of directors, on the recommendation of the Minister.


Board of Directors

Three members have been appointed to the Board of Directors:

Bryan Davies

Bryan P. Davies, Chair

Term: June 29, 2017 to June 28, 2019

Bryan Davies has extensive financial sector and governance experience in both the private and public sectors. Most recently, he served as Chair of the Canada Deposit Insurance Corporation, assuming that role in 2006. Mr. Davies also served concurrently as Vice-Chair of the Canadian Securities Transition Office from July 2009 to July 2013.

Prior to those federal appointments, Mr. Davies was Chief Executive Officer and Superintendent of the Financial Services Commission of Ontario from 2002 to 2005. Before then, he was Senior Vice President of Regulatory Affairs at the Royal Bank Financial Group.

Mr. Davies held a number of senior positions in the Government of Ontario from 1975 to 1993, including Deputy Treasurer and Deputy Minister of Economics, and was Vice President of Business Affairs and Chief Administrative Officer at the University of Toronto from 1992 to 1994.

He has served on the Boards of both publicly traded and private corporations, and has been, and remains, active in a range of non-profit organizations, focused on the cultural, heritage, and education spheres.

Kathryn Bouey

Kathryn Bouey

Term: June 29, 2017 to June 28, 2019

Ms. Bouey has led and supported a wide range of public and private sector programs and large- scale business transformation projects.

As the founding President of TBG Strategic Services, she provides executive-level strategic advice, leadership and project management. Prior to becoming a consultant, she was a deputy minister with the Government of Ontario. Over her public service career, she had progressive experience in the federal and Ontario governments in such diverse areas as: governance and accountability; financial and human resource management; procurement: pensions, insurance and related investment strategies; risk management; health; energy; realty; intergovernmental finance, social and economic policy; negotiations; and labour relations.

Ms. Bouey currently serves on the Canada Revenue Agency Board of Management. She holds an ICD.D designation and has been actively involved on a number of boards, including Hydro One (Chair, Business Transformation Committee and Member, Investment and Pension Committee), Ontario Power Generation, the Ontario Pension Board, St. Joseph’s Health Centre (Toronto), Sheridan College (Chair, Board Governance Review Task Force), the Ontario Financing Authority, the Canadian Comprehensive Auditing Foundation and SPRINT Senior Care.

Judith Robertson

Judith Robertson

Term: June 29, 2017 to June 28, 2019

Judith Robertson is a senior financial services professional with international experience in technology enabled businesses, securities markets, investment products and risk management.

As Commissioner for the Ontario Securities Commission from 2011 to 2017 Ms. Robertson served as regulator, board member and adjudicator. Previous positions include: President and CEO of Belzberg Technologies Inc., Executive Vice President with Perimeter Financial Corp., CEO of Markets Inc., Managing Director with Barclays Global Investors, and Vice President with CIBC Wood Gundy.

Ms. Robertson has obtained the ICD.D and CFA designations and is an Ivey MBA and University of Toronto graduate. She is a member of the Institute of Corporate Directors and a former member of the Society of Ontario Adjudicators and Regulators. She has been an active participant in industry committees and has served on several not-for-profit boards including TVOntario and MPrime Network.